Epic Moments in Gaming—Loch Ness

Posted: March 17, 2015 in Uncategorized

2015_03_17_19_00_15_635_Beautified

It was late at the Pub and I had drank my share of Pints but I wasn’t so far gone as to have lost my gaming moxy and was in the mood for one last joust with a couple of ladies that were chatting up my last win at El Grande. I sat down in the corner with them. A Nice table that David O’Kelly kept for me since it worked perfect for gaming. I ordered another pint and set up the game of Loch Ness

WP_20150317_005 (1)

I took on the role of Claude McMirror and as the game progressed I knew it was a tight game, very close and anyone could win.

WP_20150317_003

This would be the last round as the Little Nessie would surely go past 65 on the board. I took a long sip of Ale from my mug and looked at the board.

WP_20150317_002

Big Nessie was 6 spaces away from my 7 value cameraman but the problem was Belinda Viewing had her value 7 cameraman 5 spaces away next to mine. I had two great photos of the trunk and tail of Nessie as you can see.

WP_20150317_011

I needed Big Nessie to stop in front of my number 7 cameraman so I could get a shot of the head and yes the head was available to grab from the face up cards,

WP_20150317_012

The decision facing me now was what move card to play. It was late and I was full of Ale and I thought I had a pretty good idea what cards remained for Belinda and Filosa but I couldn’t be sure. I played my card face down and hoped for the best. I needed Big Nessie to stop in front of my green 7 cameraman so I could get the head shot. The head shot would give me a complete series and 10 points which from my calculations should be enough to win the game. I took a sip of Ale and Belinda turned over the move cards,

WP_20150317_008

Nightmare scenario! A blasted FIVE!!! That moves Big Nessie directly in front of Belinda!

WP_20150317_009

I will get points sure, but I won’t get to get the head shot photo I desperately needed to win the game! CURSES! Belinda smiling ear to ear as she starts to grab for the Head Shot photo.

WP_20150317_006

But wait! My droopy lids opened as something dawned on me. I had put a token on the Bagpipes space on the board. Those lovely BAGPIPES! I felt so good I almost wanted to put on a Kilt and walk around a game convention. Do you realize what this means? The bagpipes allow me to move BIG NESSIE one space more directly in front of my Green cameraman!

WP_20150317_004

Belinda looked like she had hit by a sledge hammer. I picked up the head shot of Nessie, which did indeed give me the game!

WP_20150317_010

Leave a Reply

